Can I be Honest with You?

Hi dear readers! I sure hope you are doing well. It’s been a while.

Today I had the chance to sit down with some dear friends and just talk about life. Sure, I didn’t get a head start on my paper like I said I would, but this was so much more important.

I am so incredibly lucky to be surrounded by people who love to be vulnerable. There’s no need to ask “can I be honest with you?” because it’s just assumed that we are going to be completely open with each other from the minute we sit down.

Tonight in the middle of Nashville’s best hot chicken restaurant, I talked to one of my best friends about adventuring and the best way to spread God’s love. She inspires me daily to be a braver and better person.

I then sat down with one of the wisest women I’ve ever met. We ended up talking about our future goals and fears. There’s such a pressure to be successful and completely fulfilled by your career, and it’s ok to be freaked out by that.

After leaving camp this summer, I made it a goal to be more intentional with my relationships. And I truly believe that this semester, more so than ever before, I have found my best friends in the world.

No matter what we talk about: food, Theta, homework, boys, or faith, I know I can come to them with anything and leave feeling better than when we started. That is what friendship should be, people who make you happy. If they don’t, if you leave their presence feeling bad about yourself, they’re not real friends.

So, take time out of your day to talk to someone important to you. You will never regret that decision. My heart is so full.

Tonight’s quote of the day doesn’t really have much to do with the topic, but it sure makes me laugh. This comes from one of my favorite authors, Lemony Snicket,  and one of my favorite books, “Horseradish.”

“If writers wrote as carelessly as some people talk, then adhasdh asdglaseuyt[bn[ pasdlgkhasdfasdf.”
-Lemony Snicket

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

