Trying not to be Hasty

Hey dear readers! I miss you all!

This weekend is going to be one of the biggest of my life. There is a lot of pressure, excitement, and nerves attached to running a big event. So, in order to keep myself sane, I decided to do all my work to get ready while watching Lord of the Rings. For some reason, those films calm me down more than most things.

I remember last semester when I was doing Initiation for my sorority and that morning before the ceremony I watched most of Fellowship of the Ring. Those movies have always been my refuge and I’ve never really been sure why.

I think there’s something so encouraging about the fact that the least likely person takes on such a daunting task and succeeds. Frodo, with the help of his friends, is able to resist evil and corruption and eventually saves the world. That makes my task of running a big event seem small in comparison.

I’ve always admired and wanted to be more like Sam Gamgee: reliable, steadfast, kind, and brave. And it makes me laugh because the more times I watch it, I realize I’m actually Pippin: clumsy, hungry, loyal, and I swore my fealty to the Steward of Gondor.

second breakfast

But at least I’m not Boromir.

I have seen these movies countless times, some completely through with commentary, but they never get old. There is also always a quote to fit any situation in life. Here’s a list of some that you can use in every day life.

If someone is being selfish or wishy-washy, you can just yell this at them:

isildur

Any time somebody does something foolish:

fool of a took

If you ever get accused of listening in to somebody’s conversation:

dropping eaves

Any time you’re convinced that test did not go well:

you shall not pass

When you are only allowed two slices of pizza so you grab the biggest one you can find:

gimli

When you are just slightly late all the time:

precisely

If someone is upset that you’re late or taking too long:

hasty

And this one really isn’t a quote, but if you’re not walking into every building like this then you’re doing it wrong.

aragorn opening door

Well that’s really all I have for tonight. Tonight’s quote comes from you guessed it…. Peter Pan. No I’m just kidding, it’s from the Hobbit. I had this quote hanging next to my bed at camp this summer and it was kind of my mantra for the summer.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

