Outta Time

Hey dear readers! I hope you are well!

I’ve come to realize that I don’t act my age.

I went to a dance party on campus yesterday that was disco themed and of the two-ish hours of music that I heard, I probably recognized four songs. And two of them were by Earth Wind and Fire. When I left I had a long conversation with my friend about “why would you ever want to take the words out of songs and just leave the beat?” “Why was there no swing dancing?” I just stood and looked at my friends who all seemed to know the music and I just laughed at the ridiculousness of my situation. I was completely out of place

However when I’m not being an octogenarian, I am acting like an absolute child. I spent the entire morning pretending to be the guy who sings the chorus from the song “Downtown,” crazy dance moves and all. (If you haven’t heard that song yet, it’s fabulous. Four out of four stars, would recommend.) I ate Count Chocula for dinner tonight.

It feels like my personality is a combination of everything that isn’t a twenty-one year old. I’m either using a coloring book or yelling for “you hooligans to get off my lawn.” But I’m cool with that, I guess.

I watched the Woody Allen film “Midnight in Paris” last night because it’s one of my favorites. I thought it seemed fitting since it’s about an old soul who feels like he was born in the wrong time. Not that I want to be living in a time any other than now, but it would make my love for 50s rock seem a little less weird.

I’m cool with being out of place in those situations. I’m an awkward human to begin with. That just makes the moments that are more my style that much better. Aka The Enchantment Under the Sea Dance from Back to the Future. It’s my dream to go to that. Unless I’ve already been there…. time travel.

My quote of the day comes from my hero, George McFly. I started doing my impression of his laugh at camp this summer and my campers looked at me and said “Allie, that’s your normal laugh. You do that all the time.” I wasn’t sure if I was flattered or worried.

“Yes. Yes. I’m George. George McFly. I’m your density. I mean, your destiny. ”

george laughing

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

