It’s Only Tuesday

Hey lovely readers! I hope you’re well. I miss you dearly.

I’m having one of those weeks. You know, the week when you try to stay positive, but everything that you’ve ever committed to is happening at once? Yeah one of those. Sunday you say to yourself, “If I can just get through Tuesday.” And then “If I can just get through Wednesday.” And here I am already thinking “If I can just get through Thursday.”

I have stress eaten my way through an entire bag of crispy M&Ms that I bought on Saturday, and am almost done with a bag of Chex Mix. The only way I have been able to get through each day has been from the help of my good friend, Dr. Pepper.

I knew that I would be busier than usual when I came back to campus this semester, but it’s been hard to stay motivated. Harder than I had thought. I think it’s because I’ve been slightly disappointed. There were just things that I was really looking forward to this semester, that didn’t end up being as great as I imagined.

That’s the interesting thing about disappointment. You get excited about something and immediately blow it up in your mind, and create a hundred different scenarios about how it’s going to go. When it doesn’t meet your expectations, you feel like you’ve been betrayed. Which in retrospect seems silly, considering it was your own imagination that did that to you.

I do that to myself a lot. I get excited about things really easily. I like that about myself, but sometimes it’s hard. It’s hard to invest so much of yourself into everything. But, I’ve found, however, that it’s usually worth it. I would much rather get excited and be enthusiastic about everything and be disappointed every once in a while than be apathetic. Life is so much more fun when everything is “the best” or “the greatest thing I’ve ever done.”

A few campers this summer were imitating me and said “Hi I’m Allie and everything is awesome and I love breadsticks.” I was like, yup, that sounds about right. And that’s what I wanted my kids to see. In a world that has things like sticks made out of bread, everything really is awesome. If for a week I could make everything “the best,” maybe then they would have that mind-set as well.

Because disappointment is real. Not everything is “the best ever.” But the world is a cool place, and living life is super fun. I need to stop wishing away my Tuesdays and Wednesdays because they’re stressful. I need to embrace them for what they are: awesome.

In the midst of meetings, class, interning, and homework, one of my best friends took time out of her night to hang with me and eat ice cream. That was just the best. We then discussed which of us would be which member of 21 Pilots. I’m still not sure. It’s a very hard decision that will take some time. This sort of important life decision is not to be rushed.

So, to sum up all my ramblings (if you’re still with me, thank you kind friend) life is awesome even if it does disappoint you every once in a while. Also, according to how much I’ve mentioned it in this post, I really like food.

My quote of the day is this really great quote I found on the Interwebs.

“There’s a lot of stress out there, and to handle it, you just need to believe in yourself; always go back to the person that you know you are, and don’t let anybody tell you any different, because everyone’s special and everyone’s awesome.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

