Staying Third

Hey dear readers! I hope you are doing well!

Today I read this really amazing article entitled, “An Open Letter To Camp Counselors Trying to Re-enter The ‘Real World.'” It talked about how it is to come back to life after spending an entire summer at camp and how to handle it. I found it to be one of the most accurate and heartening things I’ve read in a while.

The main thing it touched on is something I’ve been struggling with since I’ve been back. Focusing on yourself. You spend the entire summer never once thinking of yourself, truly only caring about the needs of your campers and your co-counselors. Then, you get back to college, a place where you’re encouraged to make yourself your number-one priority. It’s so hard to come back to that.

I’ve been in a slump all day and I think I finally know why. For the last week I’ve done nothing but think about myself. I have fallen back into my old habits already and it’s only been a week. I’m extremely busy like I always am, so I’m focused on my schedule, what I need to get done, my social plans, and when I can sleep. Normally, staying busy makes me happy, but not now.

From my internship to my homework, I’m thinking about how I can be happier and more successful. I’m not putting others second, and God first, and not because I don’t want to. I get so caught up in my agenda that I just forget, and it’s starting to take it’s toll already.

At camp I was given more responsibility, more hardships, and more stressful situations than I will ever have here at school, but I was never unhappy. I was exhausted, sure, but never lost my sense of joy or wonder. It’s easy to find the good in everything when you’re making sure someone else is happy. When you’re just doing it for yourself, it’s easy to get caught up in the negatives.

It’s my goal to continue living like I’m at camp. Sure, I won’t have ten thirteen-year-olds running around me all the time asking eight-thousand questions, but I can keep the same mindset. Even though I’ll have to focus on myself more than I do there, that doesn’t mean I need to be the center of my life. God is first, others are second, and I am third.

Today’s quote comes from that article:

“We’re no less called when we’re away from camp.”

Love your neighbors as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

