Happy Days

Hey dear readers! I hope you had a great day!

So, tomorrow is the first day of my junior year. Good grief. I cannot express how blessed I am to be at Belmont. This school means the world to me. It’s in an incredible city, it has really cool majors, but most importantly it has some of the best people in the world.

Today, I had the chance just to hang out with some of my best friends. We weren’t even doing anything exciting. We went to Walmart. But there’s just something about being so comfortable around each other that just makes me content.

My roommate and I sat on my bed and watched too many episodes of New Girl and just laughed. It was something so simple, but it just was a happy moment.

This year, I’m taking a daily challenge to write down the happiest moments of my day. At camp we would take turns saying our high of the day and it really put the day into perspective. There are stressful, crazy, miserable moments in the week, sure, but the happy moments always outnumber them. So, before I go to bed, I look back and write in a journal some of the highlights. They could be big things like getting an internship or actually unpacking everything. Or they could be the smaller gestures that still make a big impact, like texting a  friend or laughing about Schmidt’s lack of Lion Fish.

I can sometimes think too much into things, get anxious or stressed, and then feel terrible. There are too many things that are good in this world to let stupid nuisances get you down.

My quote of the day is quite possibly a repeat. It’s a quote that I have hanging on my wall because it brings me hope. It’s from the wonderful Samwise Gamgee. It’s long, but incredible.

“It’s like in the great stories, the ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were, and sometimes you didn’t want to know the end because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end it’s only a passing thing this shadow, even darkness must pass. A new day will come, and when the sun shines it’ll shine out the clearer. I know now folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding on to something. There’s some good in the world, Mr. Frodo, and it’s worth fighting for.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

