Where You Can Live Your Dreams

Hello dear readers! It’s been a while, and for that I’m sorry.

Well, I’ve officially moved back to Nashville. And now that it’s real that my summer is over, I’ve had time to reflect on this past summer. This has been one of the harder years to come back to school, only because this summer was perfect. Now, I’ve claimed to have had perfect summers before, but this truly was. I got to live out my dream of working at Camp Tecumseh.

I’ve wanted to be a counselor at Camp T ever since my brother started going there in the fourth grade. So I was about six years old. I met the counselors there and thought, “I want to do that.” I went as a camper there myself for seven years and then it was time to be a counselor.

“I’m so ready…” I thought, mistakenly. I didn’t get the job and I was crushed. There have only been a few times I have been that upset in my life. I thought that camp was the place for me, so I didn’t give up. I applied again… and got denied again.

This past school year I really thought about what I wanted to do during the summer and I thought “I need to be at Camp.” After being rejected more than once, I was almost surprised by how badly I wanted to apply again. I had done a lot of growing up since the first time I had applied, so I went for it. During Christmas break, I got the email that changed my life. I would be going back to camp for the first time in four years.

There is a quote in Bob Goff’s book “Love Does” that really hit me this summer. I would read that book it to my campers at night, and when I read this passage it stopped me in my tracks. He says,

“I once heard somebody say that God had closed an opportunity they had hoped for. But I’ve always wondered if, when we want to do something that we know is right and good, God places that desire deep in our hearts because He wants it for us and it honors Him. Maybe there are times when we think a door has been closed and, instead of misinterpreting the circumstances, God wants us to kick it down.”

I had never thought of that before, but I realized that was my journey with being a counselor. I could never have handled the job when I first applied and God knew that. He made me wait longer than I had wanted, but He never took away that “desire” to be at Camp. Eventually I was able to break down that door and it was everything I could have hoped for.

God is so good. He knows exactly what we need and when we need it. All we need to have is faith that the plans He has for us are good.

Camp Tecumseh will always be my favorite place on earth. There is a line in a song we sing every week that says Camp Tecumseh is where “you can be who you want to be and where you can live your dreams.” This summer I lived that dream.

I’m so incredibly grateful for everyone this summer. There’s something about giving everything in order to make sure others are happy that brings more joy than anything else. Being a counselor was more than just a job, it changed my life.

Even though I already posted a quote, I figured I could add a quote of the day from camp.

“There was a silly moose who liked to drink a lot of juice.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and don’t forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

