So this is what relaxed feels like…

Hey dear readers! I hope you’re having a great week.

A week ago I came back to campus for my final week of school before Christmas break. When I was telling people about it back home, I was like “Yeah. Only one week. It will go by so fast and I’ll be back before ya know it.” The funny thing is, it hasn’t gone by very quickly for only being seven days. This has been one of the longest weeks of my life, but in a good way. In the best way, actually.

So, you know how I was talking about not liking to waste time? Well I’ve had a lot of free time this week and I’ve spent it in the best way possible. I watched an entire season of Psych, read most of Amy Poehler’s autobiography, and just had quality time with friends.

This weekend, I have just been so happy. Just completely content. I have been surrounded with people that I love but don’t get to see very often. I got to see my adopted big sister, my big and twin in my sorority, my littles, and my London friends. Spending time with them was just a huge reminder as to how blessed I am to be surrounded by the people in my life. I was jumping from place to place, but never felt stressed. It’s a wonderful feeling.

I was able to go Christmas caroling to the people who live on the street by Belmont. I thought it was funny, though, that everyone we sang to thought we were collecting money for something. They were quite surprised when we said that we were only there to spread Christmas cheer. I can’t tell what that says about humanity now a-days, but I’m glad we were able to do something nice without asking for anything in return.

I can’t think of a better way to get me in the Christmas spirit. I thought I was so ready to come home for break, but getting a chance to just enjoy this last week has been really great. It’s so easy to get caught up in everything during the regular school week that I don’t enjoy stuff like I should. It really was a blessing in disguise that my only final was the last possible time for a test.

I genuinely was anxious about how I was going to fill up my time all week. I was stressed about the prospect of not being stressed. That is when you know you have a problem. It’s like those people who are worried because they’re not worried about something. Seriously, that’s crazy talk.

So, as I sit here looking at my tiny Christmas tree covered in personalized ornaments, I can say with certainty that I am happy. Just happy.

Here is today’s quote of the day! My roommates were watching the ever-wonderful movie Zoolander last night, so my quote comes from that.

“What is this? A center for ants? How can we be expected to teach children to learn how to read… if they can’t even fit inside the building?” -Derek Zoolander

Love your neighbors as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a Reply

