Meet Amy Poehler? Yes Please.

Hello dear readers! Look at me go! Two in a row!

I am a very happy person this week because I am now in possession of Amy Poehler’s new book, “Yes Please.” I love reading. But even more specifically, I love reading autobiographies. There is something really cool about being able to get inside the head of your favorite personalities, if only for a little while. It makes you feel as if you could actually be their friend.

So, my new pal Amy and I have been hanging out on the reg. She’s hilarious and witty and just an absolute inspiration. She is a strong, funny, and confidant woman in the entertainment industry and I just admire her attitude and poise. She is real in her book, she’s in no way a perfect person. She admits to her mistakes and her “demons” while still staying positive and finding good things about herself to mention as well.

She gives me hope for the future. I want to pursue a career in the entertainment industry. Yes, I am well aware that this is a life choice that won’t lead to finding the cure to cancer or anything, but I still think that it is a life worth pursuing. Also, on a related note, my mental math skills are terrible. You don’t want me attempting to find the cure to cancer.

I have gotten some slack about my major choice. Never from my family, they always have my back, but from those who don’t understand why I think it’s important. I bet that some assume that I hope to become famous and rich and live the life of luxury, but the exact opposite is actually true. Sure I would love some money in order to live, but if I really wanted money, I would be majoring in business or pre-med. I very much expect to live in a studio apartment with far too many roommates, working a day-job, and eating pizza rolls for at least a couple of years.

So, what’s my purpose? Why would I do this? Here’s why. Television and film can take people away (if only for an hour) from their lives, from the things that stress them out, and from their daily routines. It can make them laugh, cry, and feel less alone in the world. These characters are relatable, and still maybe so different that it can make you think a different way.

I want to write to share stories. I want to be a light in a world that is so dark sometimes that humor is just completely underestimated and ignored. I want to write about people who are relatable, who are friends to those who might not have many, who bring a new perspective.

I mean just think about kid president! That kid is hilarious and an inspiration to so many. His story was told through the internet and look how much joy it brought to people. I want to work with those kinds of people. I want to surround myself with those who think of entertainment the same way I do, not as a money-making machine but as a way to spread joy.

So sure, I’m never going to be a doctor or a Nobel peace price winner. I’m not going to change the course of humanity. However, if I can make at least one person laugh on a weekly basis, that is good enough for me.

I always say to myself that I hope that one day I will be someone worth quoting; that something that I have to say will change the course of someone’s day. And if I can do that by writing for television, then by-golly, I’m going to do it.

Today’s quote of the day comes from the lovely Amy herself.

“Try to keep your mind open to possibilities and your mouth closed on matters that you don’t know about. Limit your ‘always’ and your ‘nevers.'” -Amy Poehler

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day.

Allie

Leave a Reply

