One Last Drink at MacLaren’s

Hello dear readers! Happy Sunday, or Monday by the time you read this, probably.

Well, tomorrow’s the day, the dreaded day when How I Met Your Mother comes to a close. Because this show has meant so much to me and so many people that I know, I wanted to dedicate a whole blog post to it. 

I started watching during the third season, I believe. I immediately was hooked when I saw Neil Patrick Harris. I mean, let’s be real, that man is the coolest thing since sliced bread. Anyways, I remember that my mom bought me the first season on DVD as a present so that I could catch up (This was before instant Netflix. *gasp!* I know.) 

Soon after the first episode I watched, I realized that this show was something special. It is just so unique. It’s called “a love story in reverse” and I would agree with that definition. I love the fact that each episode is just a memory that a dad is reliving through his stories. Who can’t relate to that? Everyone loves telling their stories about, “the time when…” so it just makes sense to have a show told that way. Also, it is not just a comedy. You truly care about these characters and want to see them happy. So when Lily moves to San Francisco, Marshall’s dad dies, and Ted gets left at the altar, you genuinely feel for them. 

This show has lasted so long due to the fact that there are so many memorable things: characters, catch-phrases, etc. And let’s not forget the repeating gags: interventions, the pineapple incident, the slap bet, the slutty pumpkin, the Playbook, the Bro Code, the yellow umbrella, high-fives, 500 miles, and so many more. 

Also, thanks to this show, I now know that I am the Marshall to a Ted out there. Never before have I been able to sum up a relationship so perfectly. So, thank you Ted, for always being there for me. I am proud to be your Marshall.

I will really miss these characters once this show ends tomorrow. After nine seasons, I feel as if they are my actual friends. I hope that tomorrow’s episode will be full of references to past episodes and touching moments. I guarantee you all that I will cry before the night is over. 

So, thank you Ted, Marshall, Lily, Robin, and Barney for nine of the best seasons ever. You’ve taught all of us about life, love, and friendship. I’ve loved being a part of your lives. 

Today’s quote comes from the Terminator.

Just kidding, it’s from the wonderful Ted Mosby.

“Here’s the secret kids. None of us can vow to be perfect. In the end all we can do is promise to love each other with everything we’ve got. Because love’s the best thing we do.” – Ted Mosby

And here’s a second one because I’m feeling sappy.

“You will be shocked kids, when you discover how easy it is in life to part ways with people forever. That’s why, when you find someone you want to keep around, you do something about it.” – Ted Mosby

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day.

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

