The Funny Thing about Life…

Hello dear readers! I hope you are having a lovely week!

I want to start with a story. Yesterday, I went out to dinner with a couple of friends and as we were leaving, we had the choice to walk out a normal door or a revolving door. While my friends left through the normal one, I took the spinny door and said “Wheee!!” They laughed at me and I jokingly said, “Rule one to having an awesome life: always take the spinny door option.” This lead us to discussing a list of little things that would make your life more fun. They told me that I should start writing them down, so that is exactly what I intend to do.

Granted, I know that I am no expert on having the most fun in life, but I do go out of the way to do silly things once in a while. So here goes nothing…

Allie’s List of Tips for Having the Most Fun Life

1. This one is probably the most important. So, pay attention. Never ever care what people think of you. If you don’t follow this rule, there is no way you can follow the rest of the tips. If you’re so worried that other people might judge you or laugh at you, you’ll start over-thinking things. Just do it. Because you want to. Because it will make you happy.

2. If there is an event that recommends you wear a costume, WEAR A COSTUME! And don’t go, “Oh, well I’m wearing a shirt that has the Hulk on it, so I’m a superhero.” No. No you’re not. If your underwear are not outside of your pants, you’re doing it wrong.

3. Always walk through a revolving door if it’s an option.

4. If someone offers you a free pastry, take it. Don’t think about all the other food you just ate. Someone is offering you a piece of cake? And you don’t have to pay for it? What in the world are you waiting for?

5. Name everything you own. Not just your pets, oh no. I’m talking: phone, computer, car, musical instruments, that lady from your GPS, really anything that you use on a daily basis. It gives you such a personal connection with your items. I’m not just typing on my computer right now, I’m hanging out with Samwise, the greatest Mac to have ever lived.

6. Dance often. Preferably badly. In public places.

7. Always try an activity before you say that you don’t like it. Unless it’s dangerous. Then think long and hard before doing something crazy. Unless you’re into that. Then just go for it. Unless it’s like actually dangerous and you could get hurt. I don’t want you to get injured. That would NOT make your life happier. So, just try new things… yeah that’s what I’m trying to say.

8. The same goes for food. Seriously. You have to try something before you can say you don’t like it. Be adventurous. Unless it could be dangerous. Then don’t eat it. You get the gist.

9. Rain boots can make any day more fun. Especially if they have polka-dots on them.

10. Speak in accents any chance you get.

11. If there is an outfit that you really love, but it is kind of crazy, or loud, or just doesn’t match, wear it. If you feel confident and comfortable, that’s all that matters.

12. Don’t ever feel ashamed to say that you really like something. So what if you’re super into the VeggieTales? Me too. They’re the bees knees. Be proud of the things you’re a fan of. Show off your Lord of the Rings jewelry. Wear that Monsters University T-shirt. Sing songs from Frozen.

13. Try to fit in as many retro phrases into conversation as you can. Such as: the bees knees, what’s the haps?, rad, etc.

14. If there is a free face-painting station, go to it. And get something that you really like painted on your face, even if that thing happens to be Wolverine from the X-Men.

15. You’re never too old for a bounce house. They are the coolest.

16. Learn to play ping-pong left-handed. So, when your opponent least expects it, you can yell, “I am not left-handed!” and dramatically throw the paddle to your other hand, Inigo Montoya style.

17. Jellybeans for breakfast is not only an option, but a lifestyle.

18. Theme music is necessary for all daily activities. When you work out, listen to the score from your favorite movie. Then, instead of running, you’re being chased by Orcs or maybe sprinting towards the damsel in distress. It makes everything you do seem more epic. Same goes for doing homework. Listening to Sherlock Holmes music just makes me feel smarter.

19. If you see a friend, but they don’t see you, take a picture of them and send it to their phone.

20. Never miss an opportunity to go play outside. If someone asks if you would like to play frisbee (cliche for college, I’m well aware) go out there. Learn to play spike ball (Belmontians). Swing in your hammock. Play that sweet awesome game that Spongebob and Patrick made up that has no rules. I’ve been dying to play that one. If you know what I’m talking about, hit me up.

21. Never ever use even, normal numbers for things. Set your alarm for 8:23 like I do every day. Buy gift cards for 20 dollars and 39 cents. And end your lists on the number 21.

So, I hope that you can take a few of these things to heart. They’ve always worked for me. Life is too short to do normal things and to worry about what others might think. In the words of every girl I seem to have met in college, “You do you.” I can pull off that phrase just about as well as I can body roll. And after dance rehearsal this week, apparently that’s not very well.

Here is your quote for today. It comes from one of my favorite comedians, Jim Gaffigan.

“We are all a little weird. And we like to think that there is always someone weirder. I mean, I am sure some of you are looking at me and thinking, “Well, at least I am not as weird as you,” and I am thinking, “Well, at least I am not as weird as the people in the loony bin,” and the people in the loony bin are thinking, ‘Well, at least I am an orange.'”
― Jim Gaffigan

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

