The Weird ones on Wedgewood

First of all, I want to apologize. It has been almost TWO MONTHS since I last posted on here. Two months! A friend of mine pointed out that it’s been a while, so I decided to make a conscious effort to write more. Sometimes life can just get really busy and things like blogs get forgotten about.

Well, it’s officially the last day of winter and that means that you can find musicians out on the quad again. My school is very musically inclined, to say the least, and it just didn’t feel like Belmont without hearing trumpet as you walk to class. 

Recently, two Vanderbilt students came to campus to interview “hipsters.” I have never been so entertained. Vandy sees us as the artsy, weird next-door neighbor. And I’m totally fine with that. I would much rather be that than the boring neighbor. That makes us the Helen Thermopolis to the Vandy, Mr. Robitussin. And that my friends, is a good thing. 

I love our campus and student body for all of our eccentricities. I like the fact that when I am asked, “Do you know the girl who has blue hair?” that I can respond, “Which one?” 

We have a lot of character and that’s something that I take for granted. I will honestly never again be surrounded by so many artsy, inspired, and courageous people as I am now. One of my professors always tells us to not be intimidated by the talent and passion around us, that we should be inspired by it and use it to build us up. This is the perfect place to do that.

Thanks dear readers for letting me have a hiatus from the writing. I will definitely be back with more soon.

Here is your quote for the day, and it comes from… you guessed it, Mr. Robitussin himself.

“The elegant European woman didn’t stay for tea… but the promise of tomorrow hung bright in the air.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Allie

Leave a comment