The Boys are Back

Hello dear readers!

Well… I’ve done it again. I’ve locked myself out of my room. So I’m currently hanging out in the hallway until I find someone who can help me out. But in the meantime, I will write. In the honorable words of the Goodwill guy, “There’s never been a better time to write a blog.” That is what he said, right? 

I want to dedicate this blog to the amazing television program that is “Sherlock.” This show, if you’re not already familiar with it, is a modernized version of the traditional Sir Arthur Conan Doyle creations. No I’m not talking about the mediocre, Americanized, “Elementary” which attempts to be as cool as the BBC phenomenon. This show, featuring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman, is absolutely everything you would ever wish for in a TV show: mystery, suspense, brilliance, humor, and a good ole’ fashioned bromance. 

This show has been an obsession of mine for a while. I now own all of the original Sherlock Holmes stories, have posters of Holmes covering my dorm walls, and I am going to be studying Sherlock in London this summer. It’s a little out of control, I know. But if you have seen the show AT ALL, you understand how addicting it can be.

But the reason I bring it up, today of all days, is because the third season is airing on PBS tonight. Two years after the last season finale, the boys of Baker Street are back.

Excuse me… I have found a way into my room… be back in a second.

That is much better. No worries, dear readers, I am back in my dorm. Shout out to Bridget (the best RA ever) for having the master key.

 In the anticipation for the upcoming season, my roommate and I have been binge-watching the first two seasons. That really isn’t saying much though, considering there’s only six total episodes between the two. Now that we’re all caught up, though, we cannot wait for tonight. 

And you can be sure that I’m going to be celebrating this premier right. I will be wearing a deerstalker (the classic Sherlock Holmes hat), drinking tea out of a Doctor Who mug (it’s BBC so I will allow it), and admirng the Union Jack that I so carefully hung on the wall last night. Nothing brings me more joy than watching British television while drinking tea out of a British mug. 

So, if you’re looking for a new show or just a reason to say the name “Benedict Cumberbatch” (I mean seriously… so fun to say) then I highly suggest “Sherlock”. 

Today’s quote of the day comes from the source of the greatness, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. 

“There is nothing more to be said or to be done tonight, so hand me over my violin and let us try to forget for half an hour the miserable weather and the still more miserable ways of our fellowmen.” -Sherlock Holmes

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

