Who Needs a Calling When You Can Just Text?

Hello dear readers! Tonight just feels like a blogging kind of night.

I haven’t written in a while because I’m currently trying to get back into the swing of things. I have a new room, new roommate, new classes, and a whole new semester to do with what I please. It’s really a lot to take in at once, so blogging had to be put on the back burner. But here I am now, with a couple of days under my belt, so now’s as good a time as any.

I have already had a good amount of time to think about my life, my future, and my “purpose” at school this semester. Surprising, I know, considering I’ve only been here for about five days. But in all seriousness, though, starting a whole new set of classes really forces you to evaluate what you are studying and what you want to do with your life. People always say, “You’re only a freshman! You have all the time in the world to figure out what you want to do!” But then why am I constantly asked what I want to do with my life? Considering I only have four years in school in which to graduate, it seems to me that I really don’t have, “all the time in the world,” and it scares me. No, I’m not sitting here in the fetal position because I haven’t found my “life’s calling” but it does cross my mind quite often. 

But as I’m starting these new classes and meeting new people, I am coming to the realization that if I continue to try new things, then I will be able to find my “calling.” It might not be anything that I have ever considered before. There are so many cool jobs and opportunities out there in the world that I know nothing about, and that’s really cool to think about. 

I have decided to take every day as it comes, to work as hard as I can on my current tasks and worry about the future when I get there. I will still continue to plan and dream, as every kid does, but not let my lack of direction hinder me. I know that I will find something amazing someday. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and someday I will be working at my dream job, laughing at the fact that I was so worried about never finding it.

So, here’s to a new semester! Here’s to trying new things, or just re-attempting old things that I swore to never do again (I’m looking at you, chemistry class.) It’s 2014, and I believe this is going to be a great year.

Tonight’s quote comes from this new calendar I bought. It’s one of those daily, tear-away calendars and each day it has an inspiring quote! 365 days worth of quotes! If you cannot already tell, I am quite excited about it. So without further ado, here is the quote for January 9th, 2014.

“I avoid looking forward or backward, and try to keep looking upward.” -Charlotte Bronte

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

