Semester in Review

Hello dear readers!

I’m so sorry that I haven’t written in a while. Life has been kind of crazy with the last few days of my first semester. Can you believe it? I am DONE with my first semester of college. And it has been incredible.

Looking back, I have done so many amazing things these past few months and I want to touch on the highlights.

The first few weeks of college, I have to be real with ya, were rough. A new place, with no one that I know, with new responsibilities… I was an anxious mess. I’ve always been a fairly anxious person when it comes to new situations, but this was a whole new level of terror. But as one of my heroes, Samwise Gamgee, once said, “but in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass.” The fear, nerves, uneasiness will all pass in time. And they did.

Joining a sorority was not something I had ever really considered before going to Belmont. I know so many amazing women who are members of sororities (my mom and grandma included) however I just thought that it wasn’t going to be my thing. Once I got to Belmont, though, I realized that the Greek life there is unlike anything I had ever been exposed to before. It wasn’t anything like the picture that I had in my head from “Legally Blonde.” So I thought, “What the heck?” I wanted to be more involved on campus, and I wanted to make more friends, so I went through one of the most fun/craziest weeks ever. I joined the coolest group of girls I could have ever asked for. I am so lucky to be a sorority woman.

I have laughed at the fact that so many people ask me all the time, “So do you DO work there?” Which at first was kind of funny. I mean, I post stuff all the time on Facebook about all the fun things that I’m doing in Nashville. However, it got on my nerves after a little while, because of course I do schoolwork! And who wants to see pictures of me holed up in the library? I actually posted a picture of me sitting in a carroll one day because I thought it was funny.

Anyways, I digress. I loved my classes this semester. Surprisingly enough, my favorite class was Intro to the Old Testament. I had an incredible teacher who reminded us a little of Hagrid from Harry Potter, in appearance and friendliness. Not only that, but it was through this class that I was able to meet some of my closest friends. I was able to learn so much and I am really going to miss it.

Aside from school, as I mentioned before, I was constantly busy doing so many fun things. There was always something awesome happening in Nashville and on campus. I love being busy, so I filled my schedule with intramurals, clubs, and spending time with friends. That’s something that’s so cool about college. My friends are always around me. Sometimes being alone is great, but being able to meet up with my friends for every meal, or being able to study together, or just doing something spontaneous, is awesome.

I apologize that this blog is once again all about me and my life. However, this entry is more for me than anything. I don’t want to forget a single thing that I did, or any emotion that I have felt in the past four months. College is unlike anything I have ever experienced and I love it. And not like in a, “Oh yeah… my first semester has been great,” with a cheesy smile kind of thing. I genuinely love Belmont and the people there.

So here’s my quote of the day. It actually has to do with my theme!

“Every year, many, many stupid people graduate from college. And if they can do it, so can you.”
 John Green

Always love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

