Thankfulness Week: Music

Hello to everyone from the great state of Indiana! 

Guess what everybody? I’m blogging! At home!

Alright, as promised, I am going to start writing about things I’m thankful for. It won’t be super corny, I promise. 

Today I really want to say how thankful I am for music. There’s something really cool about music that brings people together, makes you feel better in every situation, and is something that is immensely entertaining in all circumstances.

Let me explain. I LOVE playing music, especially in band. One reason is because orchestral music is really cool (I’m a band geek, I know). The second reason, and the most important reason, though is because musicians are the best sort of people. Here’s a piece of advice: surround yourself with people who know who Charles Ives is. Trust me. Those people may be crazy, but they’re also a lot of fun to be around.

Also, any time that I feel stressed or upset, I turn to the piano. It is seriously therapeutic. Right now I’m working on some sheet music of a Doctor Who/Sherlock mash-up song. It’s so fun. I’m not terribly good, because I’m seriously out of practice, but it’s fun just the same. 

Music can also be the most motivating thing in the world. I have a friend who runs to the Lord of the Rings soundtrack and it makes her feel super epic. For me, I do my homework to the Sherlock soundtrack. It makes me feel like I should be smarter and work with more purpose. Sherlock Holmes and Aragorn are motivating men. 

Well, that’s about all I have for tonight. I’m kinda sleepy or I probably would have said more.

Tonight’s quote comes from Sherlock (the show not the movie):

“Writing a blog about everything that happens to you will honestly help you.”

Truer words have never been said.

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

