Good Matt Damon

Let me start off by saying… IT’S SNOWING!!! IN NASHVILLE!! OK, I’m done. I was just super excited about that.

I just got back from a table read of some scripts written in the script writing class here at Belmont. This got me thinking. It’s a dream of mine to write a screen play. And not just any screen play, something really good. These musings took me onto IMDB where I found the entire script of Good Will Hunting, which in my opinion is one of the greatest scripts ever.

I have such admiration for Matt Damon and Ben Affleck. I mean, the fact that Matt started that script as a school assignment, and now it’s one of the great classics? That’s so cool. Also, it’s really fun to read their original script. If you know the movie as well as I do, it’s fun to see what they had to cut out or change.

I really love writing. It brings me so much joy. I try to be funny, thoughtful, or both in these blog posts and nothing makes me happier than knowing that somebody actually reads what I have to say. Because seriously, I love quoting other people and writers, and someday I hope to be somebody worth quoting. Or to have someone go through life and have something remind them of my writing. That’s why the movie You’ve Got Mail has so much appeal to me. Something happens every day that reminds me of that movie. I can’t go into a Starbucks or a Barnes and Noble without thinking of Joe Fox. Nora Ephron was a genius.

Well that’s enough about me and my life-long aspirations. In the spirit of this week, I am going to blog each day this week to reflect on the things I am thankful for. It might be a good idea for you to reflect on those things as well. Sometimes Thanksgiving goes by and the only thing we’ve really thought about is whether or not turkey actually has the capability of making us sleepy (I guarantee you right now that your family will have a conversation about tryptophan this week).

Here is your quote for the day. It comes from the brilliant minds of Matt Damon and Ben Affleck.

“Now, no more shenanigans, no more tomfoolery, no more ballyhoo.” –Good Will Hunting

I promise you if you quote this to someone, it will be hilarious. Any chance you get to say “ballyhoo” is a chance you should take. These are words to live by. 

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

