Movie Etiquette

Alright! Alright! The blog is back by popular demand. And by that, I mean one of my friends said, “Hey you haven’t blogged in a while,” to me today. I am sorry for the lack of blogging in the past couple of days but I’ve been super busy. I mean, Netflix can’t watch itself can it?

You are in for a treat tonight. Tonight I learned what a horrible movie-goer I am.

I went with a friend to go see the movie, “About Time.” If you like romance, time travel, or have a soul, you will love this movie.

First of all, it has an ah-mazing cast. The main guy is played by Domhnall Gleeson who is adorable, British, and played Bill Weasley in “The Deathly Hallows” (if that’s not enough, I don’t know what is.) And then his counterpart is the lovely Rachel McAdams. She is truly wonderful. And the best part of all is that the dad was played by Bill Nighy (in my opinion, one of the greatest actors ever.) If you are unaware of who he is, you should be educated RIGHT NOW. He has played memorable characters like, Davy Jones in Pirates of the Carribean, Scrimgeour in Harry Potter, and even made a cameo in Doctor Who… so yeah. He’s the greatest.

Anyways, I digress. This story is about what happened BEFORE the movie. 

So I come flying into the parking lot from a dinner with some family friends. I was running late and was slightly frantic. I wasn’t able to actually eat at the restaurant, so I had a bunch of food in my car. I met my friend in the parking lot and we hurried into the theater.

This is where it gets interesting.

So I had still had a full hamburger from the restaurant in my hands. I was not going to let a perfectly good sandwich go to waste, so what did I do? I shoved the whole, paper-wrapped burger into my tiny purse. We bought our tickets and walked into the theater. 

Because we were running late, and it was a fairly small theater, there weren’t many seats left when we got there. So, we spotted some at the very other side at the very end of the row. So, I charged up the stairs and started making my way across the row. Because the previews had already started, people were a little annoyed that I had to cross the whole aisle. I had to step over bags, around people’s feet, and after minutes of, “sorry, sorry, sorry, excuse me, sorry,” I FINALLY made it to my seat. 

It was at this point that I realized my friend hadn’t followed me across. It was also at this point that I noticed the other staircase… the one that led up the other side of the theater, directly to the chair I was standing in front of. While I was struggle-busing across the whole theater, my friend just walked down the center aisle, and up the stairs. 

I became tickled with this whole situation. I started giggling uncontrollably and pointing to the stairs. If those poor people in the aisle didn’t already hate me, they certainly did at this point. 

So, as it turns out, those seats were saved and all my struggles were in vain. So, we had to go find new seats farther down. We found some right in the center (at this point I had to cross an aisle again, but this time I actually had a reason.) We went through the whole, “sorry, sorry, sorry, excuse me, sorry,” again, and sat down. 

So, I’m fairly starving at this point, so I decide, “now’s the right time to eat this cheeseburger.” So, I pull the sandwich out of my bag and open it up. Now, when I say I have a cheeseburger, I’m not talking about crappy fast food. This is a gourmet burger that is fresh off the grill. So, you can imagine the smell that fills the theater. I mean, it was STRONG. 

The people around me started staring me down. I ate as much of it as I could before the movie started, so I could put it away once the lights dimmed. I’m shoving my face full of food when I remember the whole staircase debacle from earlier, and I can’t control my laughter. 

So the two of us are sitting in the middle of the theater, trying to giggle as silently as possible, which is really hard when there is a giant cheeseburger sitting in your lap. 

Once the movie actually got underway, I got myself under control. But honestly, it was one of the funniest moments of my life.

So the moral of this story…Don’t ever see a movie with me in the theaters.

Tonight’s quote comes from the wonderful Mother Teresa, it incorporates paradoxes and love: things that all good romantic time travel movies need.

“I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.” -Mother Teresa

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much love,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

