It’s the Little Things

Hello once again, old friends.

I have to start by apologizing. I took a short hiatus from the blog this weekend, and for that I’m sorry. I know that you were all just on the edge of your seats waiting to read what I had to say next…. I actually went home this weekend, and with my lack of wi-fi in the car, I just had to wait to write until today.

I am currently sitting in the laundry room. I find that I am my most productive when I am doing laundry. I have spent many days down here doing homework, calling friends and family (shout out to Emily who has to bear with me on the phone while I unload the washer), working on my blog, and just enjoying some alone time. The laundry room is a great place to gather your thoughts. I recommend it to anybody who has a lot on their mind. 

Anyways, today was one of those days (girls, I bet you can relate) that was just a bummer, for no apparent reason. I spent my afternoon moping around and I had no reason to feel upset.  Actually, I had every reason to be happy. My classes went well this morning, I was able to get my work done, and I spent some quality time with friends. So why did I feel miserable? I wish I had an answer.

I think that as a student, the end of the semester just freaks me out. I’m quickly careening towards my deadline dates and there’s no emergency brake. Professors decide at this point of the year that a research paper would be a good idea and that “group essays” are an effective way to teach. With only three weeks left of school, I’m freaking out inside.

So today in the laundry room, I started to think about the things that made me happy today. Instead of dwelling on the future, I spent time looking back on the day and finding the positive moments. If you couldn’t tell already, I’m all about positivity. So here are some things that brought me joy today.

1. Having a friend on campus put her conversation on hold just to give me a hug. 

2. Receiving a text message from my friend who knew that I had “liked” BBC One on Facebook just to get a sneak peak at the new season of Sherlock. (You know me too well, my friend.)

3. Getting to compete in intramurals and becoming a Futsol champion. 

4. Doing my laundry. (After about five days of having the laundry room flooded, I was running out of socks.)

5. Talking on the phone with my mom and dad. 

6. Eating dinner with some of the greatest friends a girl could ask for. 

7. Being able to tell stories. (I love telling stories to people. Today I was able to relive my terrifying encounter with “Cher.”)

When life seems too much to handle and you just want to go curl up in your bed in mope, take stock of the little things. The little things make life seem so much more bearable. There are things that I take for granted all the time, like simple conversations and the company of friends. You’ve got to cherish those things though, because they can turn your whole attitude around. 

I’m so blessed to have people both here and back home that I know that I can go to for anything. There are people in your life who will have your back no matter what, and those are the people who you need to keep up with. Don’t let those relationships fall by the wayside. Tell them that you adore them, for all their quirks and imperfections. Because you’re quirky and imperfect as well.

Sometimes I feel that express how much certain people mean to me too often (you are my favorite favorite thing) but it’s just because I want to make sure that they never doubt that I think that they’re important and amazing. 

I want to dedicate this blog to my dear friend, George. A man that was an inspiration to me and just the best kind of person out there. He was one of those friends who I now wish I had told how much he meant to me more often. He knew how to make the best out of any situation and could always put a smile on my face. George, I’m glad I could be with you over the summer, but I wish I could have been there more recently. You were such an incredible friend and mentor. I already miss you so much. I know that you’re already having the time of your life, talking up a storm at the black jack table and the golf course. 

Today’s quote comes from the Bible. 

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day.

Much love always,

Allie

 

One thought on “It’s the Little Things

Leave a Reply

