Doctor Who?

Hello again, dear reader friends.

I’m not sure if you’re aware of this, but I am pretty high up there on the nerd spectrum. And I don’t mean in the way that some people wear sweatshirts from Forever 21 that say “NERD” on it in big letters. Those girls aren’t nerds, they’re hipsters. No nerd would be that vocal about it.

I in no way try to hide how geeky I can be, but I’m also not trying to broadcast it to the world (unless you read this blog, in which case, that’s exactly what I’m doing.) However, I have done some pretty nerdy things in the past. For example:

1. I pretended to be Ron Weasley every day at recess for two years.

2. My friend and I have a running gag where we imitate Pippin from Lord of the Rings and send videos of ourselves to each other.

3. I am in LOVE with superhero movies and tv shows. (aka, Superman, Batman, the Avengers, Heroes, Arrow, etc.)

4. I am minoring in French.

But to top it all off, I have officially done the nerdiest thing in my life so far. I just bought a ticket to watch the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary special at a movie theatre here in Nashville. And here’s the kicker… I’m going by myself. Yup, doesn’t get any better than that.

Over this past summer, I discovered the world of Doctor Who. Fourth months later, I am a hard-core Whovian and I have seen the episodes more times than I care to admit. If you don’t know who the Doctor is or what the show is about, let me give you the least nerdy/wordy summary I can. He’s an alien who travels through all of time and space with a machine called the TARDIS and usually brings along friends. Yeah…

It’s one of those shows that just pulls you in because it is touching, hilarious, and downright good television. Also did I mention it’s a British show? If that’s not enough, I don’t know what is. If you are ever interested in starting it, there’s something you should know. The Doctor is played by multiple actors, and not all of them are going to be your favorite. You’ve got to keep watching though, because it’s worth it.

I don’t want to bore you with my long-winded Doctor Who story, so I’ll cut it short. However, if any of you, my loyal readers, are  fans and would like to come with me, let me know. If not, that’s totally cool. I am going to rock this premier. I’ll be the girl in the TARDIS t-shirt, who is waaayyy too excited for her own good. Actually that might be a legitimate reason to come. You will have front row seat to watch me freak out a little bit. Or maybe a lot bit…

Anyways, here’s my quote for you today. In honor of the Doctor, I’ll make it another quote from the show. This is one of my favorites.

“I am and always will be the optimist. The hoper of far-flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams.”
– The Eleventh Doctor

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

