This One’s a Little-bit Wordy

Hey everybody! I hope you’re ready to read a blog!

I’ve had a super long and crazy day today so I’m going to keep this (relatively) short. There’s still too much to do tonight and not enough time.

I have conversations about “words” often. I love writing, as you can probably guess, so there’s something about a good word that just appeals to me. There are so many phrases and words out there that aren’t used often enough, so I decided to compile a list of my favorite words and phrases to use in conversation.

1. Swell – If Clark Kent can say it, so can you

2. Bonkers – Best if used in context of, “This day has just been bonkers!”

3. Quelle suprise – (pronounced kell soopreeze) You’ve probably noticed this in my other posts. It’s just French for, “What a surprise.” I usually use it sarcastically, and it just sounds so much better in French.

4. Brilliant – Used in the context that a British person would use it. A synonym for really cool, “That’s brilliant!”

5. What’s the haps? – Let’s just say I still cannot live down the day that I asked my suite mates this question… I still think it’s brilliant.

6. Driving the struggle bus – A daily exclamation of mine, because my ability to fail at accomplishing very mundane tasks is unparalleled.

7. Gee – Starting a phrase with the word, “gee,” makes you seem adorable. “Gee, I never thought about it that way.”

Alright you crazies, there are so many more on my list, however it is time for me to stop. This will be continued in length at a later date. I’ll pencil you in. 

I have a special treat for you today! I have two quotes, count them, two!

The first comes from the master of words himself, Dr. Seuss. That guy sure knew how to do poetry right. Why spend time using a rhyming dictionary when you can just make up a whole bunch of new words?

“All those Nupboards in the Cupboards they’re good fun to have about. But that Nooth gush on my tooth brush…..Him I could do without.” 
― Dr. Seuss “There’s a Wocket in my Pocket

True poetry magic.

And the second actually comes from a friend of mine. We were watching Pitch Perfect, and he was working on his mashup skills. I mean who doesn’t want to be Beca, am I right? Anyways, he was just singing along with the movie when he made quote history with this gem:

“I saw the sign…. but I didn’t shoot the deputy.” -Jake

Maybe it’s not all that funny, but it made me laugh until tears came out of my eyes. I swear to you now, though, every time you see that movie and they sing, “I Saw the Sign,” that is going to come into your brain.

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Until tomorrow,

Allie

Leave a Reply

