Only Fools Don’t Go to the Follies

Ok, so here’s the deal. I got to go to Fall Follies tonight!

For those of you who aren’t Belmont students, (or even if you are a Belmont student and you’ve been living under a rock) Fall Follies is Belmont’s version of Saturday Night Live. There are live sketches, digital shorts, a house band, a musical guest, and the whole thing is dedicated to making fun of our school.

When I was a junior in high school, my friend who goes to Belmont told me about the Follies. So, immediately I began watching the videos on YouTube. By the time I had actually declared myself as a Bruin, I had seen them all. So, as you can understand, I was pretty excited to see it live for the first time.

I was not disappointed.

Literally no club, event, or dining hall was left unscathed by this hilarious performance. Here’s a list of things that were made fun of at some point tonight:

freshmen, registration, the Lila D. Bunch Library, Greek life, our lack of sports knowledge and spirit, music majors, Social Entrepreneurship majors, Music Business majors, the show Nashville, people who live in Hail Hall, lack of parking places, the food, Belmont Crushes, the blue emergency poles, the fact that bottled water isn’t sold on campus, convocation, our school’s hymn, construction, and so much more.

For those Belmont students that read this, I have to say that my favorite moments were: the registration diner, the kid singing our school hymn, and the reference to the farty chairs in the library. All of these brought tears to my eyes.

Something they made fun of, and deserves to be made fun of, was the field. We have a field on campus, and it’s beautiful and green and a perfect place to play frisbee or just sit out and have fun. However, there is a problem with the field… IT’S NEVER OPEN! How do you close a field, you ask? By putting up large signs all over it that say, “The Field is Closed.” And don’t even think about stepping onto the grass, because you will be asked to get off faster than you can say, “BePo.”

I was shocked to see the field open today. It was the first time in about a week. As I saw tonight, the Follies cast members used one of the, “get off the grass,” signs as a prop. I sure hope that they were the reason that the field stayed open. Not that they took it without permission or anything, just that the university didn’t have enough signs to keep everyone off the grass.

Well, I hope this has been enlightening. If you are a Belmont student and you haven’t seen the Follies yet, “WHAT ARE YOU THINKING?” Go tomorrow. There are still two more shows. And, I recommend getting there at least in hour in advance because that line goes all the way down to the bell tower.

Well here’s tonight’s quote.

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” -Albus Dumbledore

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Much Love,

Allie

One thought on “Only Fools Don’t Go to the Follies

Leave a Reply

