You’ll never believe it, but I’m writing again! Three days in a row! I’m on a roll!

To be honest, my blog is all I can think about these days. I’ve caught the blogging bug, or “blug” as some call it….. I’m the only one who says that?…. right…

Anyways, it’s gotten to that point where anything that happens to me I think, “that should go in my blog!” I’m quickly turning into Barney Stinson. But seriously, though, when I finish a post, I just feel so happy. If you ever see me walking around campus, grinning like an idiot, and throwing finger pistols at people, I probably just finished a post.

Today I want to write about my day just because it was awesome. One of those days that you think back and say, “I did some cool things and I think people should hear about them.” So without further ado… my day today.

After I finished my classes, I had lunch with a friend and then headed to the library to work on my schedule for next year. As always, I decided to procrastinate on Facebook. It just so happened that my favorite singer, Ben Folds, posted something on the news feed. It was a post advertising FREE TICKETS to his show at the Ryman next Wednesday. As you can imagine, I jumped on it in a second. Turns out it is completely legitimate and I was able to snag myself one of the last seats for the show. I am so crazy excited! Can you tell? I hope so!

After that, I went downtown to Rocketown to volunteer for a couple of hours. If you live in Nashville and you haven’t heard of Rocketown, I highly suggest you look it up. It is an amazing facility that has: a skatepark, music venue, recording studio, dance studio, jam session room, and so much more. But the really cool thing about this place is that it is a place for inner-city kids to get off the street; a safe place where they can hang out and be creative.

Today they were filming a zombie music video, so I was there to witness the kids turn into zombies through the use of makeup, red marker, and strawberry sauce (super sticky, but wonderful smelling). I was also zombified even though I wasn’t going to be in the movie. I looked super fly.

I went with my friends to Panera for dinner, still in our zombie makeup of course. You can imagine the stares and the jokes from the staff. I didn’t care, in fact I actually thought it was hilarious. I think that late October is the only time of the year when you can come into an establishment dressed up like a zombie and people won’t care that much.

I finished my night at Sanctuary, which is honestly one of the coolest things I’ve ever attended. It is a “service” that consists entirely of music. You go and sing praise songs the whole time. I absolutely loved it. It reminded me of the Song Fests we used to have at Camp Tecumseh. We actually sang some camp songs, and anyone who knows me well knows I LOVE camp songs.

One of my favorite parts of Nashville is the fact that every single band/performer/singer is incredible. Not only was the band at Sanctuary extremely good, but the entire congregation was harmonizing the entire time. I think that I should tell Nashville that that isn’t not normal behavior (there was a double “that” in that sentence. I am pretty sure that is grammatically correct too… huh.)

Well, that was my day. I hope you enjoyed reading about it as much as I loved living it today.

Here is my quote of the day. In honor of Sanctuary tonight, I am going to post some of my favorite  lyrics from one of my favorite praise songs, “In Christ Alone.”

“No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath.
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.”

Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to Have a Great Day.

Love,

Allie

Leave a Reply

