I Try to be Spontaneous

To all my loyal readers, I am going to start this by apologizing. 

You know how I made that joke about how I was going to stop blogging after like two weeks….. Well happy two weeks later everyone! I am sincerely sorry that I had to put this on the back burner for a while. But here I am now with a really great post to make it up to you! That, “really good post,” part was a joke too. I have no idea whether this is going to be worth reading or not. I’ll let you decide.

The reason that I’m so behind on my recreational writing is because life is REALLY busy. I thrive on a busy schedule, so I am always moving, all the time. Some people may think that’s crazy, but I love it. I try to diversify my schedule too. Like tonight, I went to a business meeting at the law school, played intramural walleyball, and went to Bible study. Nothing like a great night of super random activities!

Aren’t random things the best? Things that you would never imagine happening, and then when it does you’re like, “I’m so glad I witnessed that!” Take, for example, lunch the other day. As I left the cafeteria, a man in a gorilla suit handed me a brochure advertising a trip to Sweden. True story.

Or how about the day that a kid with a paper mache dragon head walked past me on campus? I thought it was a really cool dragon, so I said, “cool dragon!” Original, I know. And instead of just nodding at me or ignoring me, the guy set the dragon down and asked me to take a picture of him with it. Needless to say, I agreed. However, I was not about to leave that situation without a picture of me with the dragon too. I mean, when will I ever get that chance again? He was quite sweet about it, and now I have a picture to prove it. 

Not all cool random events have to involve creatures of some kind. Sometimes spontaneity is all you need. By the way, “spontaneity” is really hard to spell… but that’s beside the point.

As a busy person, being spontaneous is not terribly easy for me. But when those moments arise, I try to take them. “You have an extra seat in your car for a trip to Chick-fil-a? Ok, why not?” Those are the times that I find myself, “living in the moment.” Cheesy, I know, but true. Instead of thinking about all the things I have planned all the time, I do something unexpected. Not that I’m going out and doing anything big and adventurous, but just something I wasn’t planning.

Today, for example, I had some down time. Instead of trying to be super productive and busy,  I spent it talking with one of my good friends who I just happened to run into. We just talked about life. I love doing that. Life is so interesting. She actually just started a blog today so I have to plug it really quick. Her blog is called joytotheworld, and I can personally endorse it. She’s a great writer. 

So through all of my ramblings, here’s what I want you to get out of this. Be spontaneous. Even if it’s only to talk to someone for a while. Do something each day that isn’t in your daily planner. You will be able to enjoy all the little things in your day so much more. 

Here’s my quote of the day for all y’all (That was a joke, by the way. The y’all hasn’t caught on yet.) It comes from Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. It is said by my favorite character, Samwise Gamgee. This quote is my favorite quote of all time. Fun fact, it is actually on my wall in my dorm room. I’ve been thinking a lot about it recently. It inspires me on a daily basis. So, if you are ever in a slump, or feel like life is getting you down, think back to the wise Sam. I promise you it will make you feel better. I also recommend watching this scene on YouTube. It’s called Samwise Gamgee’s Speech. Enjoy…

 

“It’s like in the great stories. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. Sometimes you didn’t want to know the end, because how could the end be happy. How could the world go back to the way it was when there’s so much bad that had happened? But in the end it’s only a passing thing, this shadow; even darkness must pass. 

A new day will come, and when the sun shines, it will shine out the 
clearer. Those are the stories that stay with you, that meant something, 
even if you were too small to understand why. 

But I think I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories 
had lots of chances for turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going 
because they were holding on to something.

 That there’s some good left in this world…and it’s worth fighting for.”

 

Thanks for sticking with me. You guys are the best. Love your neighbor as yourself and never forget to have a great day!

Love,

Allie

One thought on “I Try to be Spontaneous

  1. Nice job Allie! I really miss having you around and enjoy reading your posts. It lets me feel like you are still here. Whatever you do, don’t you dare close your eyes!!

    Blessings,

    DKB

Leave a Reply

